Lagos NIPR Turns Spotlight on Unsung Heroes at LaPRIGA 2023

In keeping with its tradition of rewarding excellence, Lagos NIPR, the premier Chapter of the Nigerian Institute of Public Relations (NIPR), illuminated the night with grandeur and pageantry at the 8th Edition of the Lagos Public Relations Industry Gala and Award (LaPRIGA), held on Thursday, 21st December 2023, at the Muson Centre in Onikan, Lagos. Over 25 distinguished Public Relations professionals in Lagos were honored with the coveted LaPRIGA figurine.

Beyond the festivity and pageantry, the premier Chapter heightened its commitment to Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) initiatives by shining a spotlight on unsung heroes who have made significant contributions to the growth of the communication industry in the state. The Chapter also highlighted organizations championing environmental causes, along with honoring an individual living with disabilities.

Setting the stage for the evening, Mrs. Comfort Obot Nwankwo, the Chairman of the Chapter, expressed the commitment of the Lagos NIPR to innovation and forward-thinking, ensuring that LaPRIGA remains exciting and relevant to society. She stated, “At Lagos NIPR, we persistently lead in innovation, contributing to the growth of the public relations profession. Our commitment extends to environmental concerns, exemplified by the LaPRIGA award for environment campaigns, which we just introduced, including a special recognition for Ooreofe Osisami, a trailblazing product of Patrick Speech and Languages Centre.”

Ooreofe Osisami, a product of Patrick Speech and Languages Centre, the first certified autism center in Nigeria, embarked on a transformative journey in January 2009. At the age of twenty, he entered the Orange class seeking intervention for challenges in expressive language skills, academic aptitude, and cognitive abilities. With dedicated support from the Centre and his family, Ooreofe made remarkable progress, showcasing talents in music and acting. Hence, he was awarded the Lagos NIPR Game Changer Award for defying the odds.

The Chapter has consistently allocated a percentage of the event proceeds annually to support its CSR initiative, the ‘Extra Mile Project,’ in aid of people living with Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD).

In a posthumous tribute, the LaPRIGA Lens Storyteller Award was conferred upon the former Photo Editor of the Guardian Newspaper, Late Femi Adebesin-Kuti, recognizing his dedication and professionalism. Late Femi Ogun, a practitioner of public relations employed by the Lagos State Government, was also posthumously honored with an Award of Excellence for Service to the Lagos Chapter.

Looking ahead to 2024, Mrs. Nwankwo pledged to intensify the focus on spotlighting game-changers and unsung heroes, emphasizing the Chapter’s commitment to recognizing and promoting individuals often overlooked by the media—an embodiment of what PR should be.

In the coming year, the Chapter plans to provide media visibility and platforms for dedicated and active individuals in Lagos society, including artisans, bricklayers, and people living with disabilities.

Speaking on the rationale for choosing LaPRIGA 2023 finalists, Mr. Chido Nwakanma, the Chairman of the Selection Committee, revealed that his committee evaluated 106 entries. He noted that there are winners in 20 categories, chosen based on originality, creativity, resourcefulness, and adherence to set standards, while five categories had no winners.


  1. PR Practitioner of the Year – Israel Jaiye Opayemi
  2. PR Agency of the Year – Chain Reactions
  3. Rising PR Practitioner of the Year – Olutayo Irantiola
  4. Best Innovation in PR Practice – Teksight Edge Limited
  5. PR Journalist of the Year – Ibidunni Banjoko (Marketing Edge)
  6. Environment and Sustainability PR Award – International Breweries Plc
  7. Best in Crisis Management – Chain Reactions Africa
  8. Excellence in Internal Communication – Nestle Nigeria Plc
  9. Excellence in Community Relations – Nestle Nigeria Plc
  10. Most Inspiring PR Practitioner – Ayeni Adekunle
  11. Best Brand in Storytelling – Unilever Nigeria Plc
  12. Corporate Communications Practitioner – Godfrey Adejumoh
  13. Best in Corporate Social Responsibility – Nestle Nigeria Plc
  14. Best in Entertainment PR – Teksight Edge Limited
  15. Best Supporter of PR – Marketing Edge
  16. Model Agency of all Time – CMC Connect
  17. Public Sector PR Campaign of the Year – LAMATA/Chain Reactions Africa
  18. Best in Political Communication – Chain Reactions Africa
  19. Best in Public Relations Education – NECCI Limited
  20. Best in Technology Public Relations – Rack Centre/Indigo


Lifetime Achievements Award

  1. Mr. Olushina Thorpe
  2. Prince Abiodun Olatubosun
  3. Dr. Larry Izamoje
  4. Dame Nancy Oghenekaro

Reputable Brand of the Year

  • Seplat

Award of Excellence for Service to the Lagos Chapter

  • Bolaji Abimbola
  • Femi Ogun (Posthumous)

Award of Excellence for Supporting Public Relations Practice in the Public Sector

  • Lagos State Government

LaPRIGA Lens Storyteller Award

  • Femi Adebesin-Kuti – Former Photo Editor of Guardian Newspaper (Posthumous)

Grassroots Governance Game Changer Award

  • Hon. Johnson Sunday Babatunde

Lagos NIPR Game Changer Award

  • Ooreofe Osisami


X: @lagosNIPR1


Instagram: @lagosnipr


Email: /


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button